Chapter 89

Failure


EmbarrassedLeyva

Oh man… I really stuffed up this time.

EmbarrassedLeyva2

I can’t even look at her. I know what I’m going to see, disappointment, rage, a smug look of “I told you so.”

Gauntlet3

Shaela had set up this gauntlet, using the Bonding Chambers computer. It looked easy enough – hit the mechs, don’t hit the children – and Shaela did a quick run through it to show me the ropes.

Gauntlet2

I’d never handled a gun before, but how hard could it be?

Gauntlet

Stupid question! I wasn’t aware that the score could go into negative numbers, but each time I ran the gauntlet, I got the same negative score.

ShockedShaela

I finally turned to face Shaela, and the look on her face said it all. I broke eye contact as soon as I saw that face.

EmbarrassedLeyva3

“I… I have to go.” I said and fled the scene, leaving behind a stunned Shaela. I locked myself in my room and wished for nothing more than the world to open up and swallow me whole.

EmbarrassedLeyva4

I look at my reflection in the mirror before quickly averting my gaze. I can’t even look myself in the eyes.

EmbarrassedLeyva5

What is the point of all this? I am such a failure and Shaela knows it.

EmbarrassedLeyva6EmbarrassedLeyva7

Please let this nightmare be over.


Shaela's Message

Father,

I know you won’t receive this message, but I need to tell somebody, even if it is just a computer.

Shaela's Message5

Don’t read too much into this message, I have still not forgiven you for what you have done… You just seemed like the best person to talk to about this.

Shaela's Message3

Today I gave the princess a break from her training, and set up a little gun-range for her to have some fun with.

I showed her how it was done – much the same way that you showed me – and then I sent her in. Six times I sent her in, and six times she failed. She fired her gun at everything that popped out. Princess Leyva scored the lowest total you could achieve each and every attempt.

But the reason why I am typing this message is because… each and every hit she made – even those on the children – was a perfect shot. I failed her father, I stood there in stunned silence and she ran off before I could tell her how amazing it was. She’s locked herself in her room and won’t come out.

Shaela's Message4

As I type this I know what you would tell me… You would say to be honest with her. Tell her that she is a natural with guns, but she needs work on her judgement. Sit down with her, and tell her that she is progressing well, and if she keeps it up she will make a fine warrior. It’s just that it is so different to how I was trained, but of course… you are right father.


Shaela's Message2

I finish typing my message to my father and I smile. Thank you father, I think to myself as I hover the mouse over the delete button. I hesitate for a second before clicking the mouse.

***MESSAGE DELETED***

6 thoughts on “Chapter 89”

  1. Levya is having a tough time but she is learning. I think Shaela should tell her that she is doing fine. I know she had to taunt her to get her to train harder but that is no longer the case. Its time to tell her the truth.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment