Chapter 83

Pain


I was never a morning person. I guess decades of partying till the early hours of the morning does that to you. Yet here I am at five in the morning, full of energy and bursting to go.

MorningLeyva

Shaela and I have been in this place for little over two months now and every day she has been pushing me to my breaking point. I hate her.

LeyvaWorkingOutLeyvaWorkingOut2LeyvaUpsetWithHerself

I hate her with a passion; I hate her so much that I want to throttle her.

Yet when I look at myself in the mirror, and I see the results, all of that hatred is forgotten… for now.

LeyvasNewLook

It’s not like I’m going to kill her or anything, I couldn’t even if I wanted to. I want to prove her wrong. She tells me every day that this is pointless, that I will never become a warrior, and that I may as well call Terra my new home, because I’ll never become strong enough to go back to Xaabos and avenge my father.

 Sparring

We’d started sparring recently, she’d said that my fitness level was sufficient enough to last a minute in a fight, I was so mad at that comment that I vowed to go much longer than one single minute.

 OneMinute

“Hit me.” she’d snapped.

I launched myself at her and she stepped sideways with such grace that I couldn’t help but stand there in awe. I was rewarded with a swift kick to the back which sent shock-waves throughout my body, those blasted metal bones of hers! I cursed her under my breath, a name that I’d promised myself I would never call her, and I saw fire in her eyes.

AngryShaelaAngryShaela2

There was a blinding light, than darkness.

BoomKOKOedLeyva

I woke up later, still on the cold floor of the Bonding Chamber, dried blood covering my face and the floor beneath me. Shaela had written a note on the floor in my own blood:

Twenty seconds is all you lasted. Pathetic! Never call me that again.

 BloodiedLeyva

I probed my face and found nothing broken – I would’ve deserved it if anything was, it was painful to touch, but I was in one piece.

It still amazes me how she can hold back her strength with such finesse, I’ve seen her reduce a heavy bag into dust back home, yet she can still tap me with just enough force so I’ll be sore for days.

BloodiedLeyva2

Pain was a common thing for me these days; it let me know that I was alive.

4 thoughts on “Chapter 83”

    1. It really is! I had a science teacher in High School who told me straight to my face that “I wasn’t going to amount to much in his class, and I would be lucky to get 30% on the exam.” I studied as hard as I could and got 78% and when I showed him the result, you know what he said? “I knew you could do it, you just needed a push.”

      Like

Leave a Reply

